Results tagged ‘ Rawlings Gold Glove ’

Kyle Seager Wins Gold Glove at Third Base


Mariners third baseman Kyle Seager has been selected as the winner of the 2014 Rawlings® American League Gold Glove, announced tonight by the Rawlings Sporting Goods Company and Major League Baseball.

Seager was one of three finalists for the American League Gold Glove at third base with Josh Donaldson (Oakland) and Adrian Beltre (TEX). Fellow Mariners Robinson Cano (2B) and Felix Hernandez (P) were also finalists at their position but did not win.

Seager, who turned 27 yesterday, had the highest fielding percentage amongst qualifying Major League third basemen in 2014 at .981 (8 E, 422 TC), the 10th-best mark by an AL third baseman dating back to 1948.

“It is an honor to just be up for the award with all the great third basemen, let alone win the Gold Glove,” said Seager. “I really owe a lot to my coaches, especially Chris Woodward. He helped me tremendously.”

He made 157 starts at the hot corner, trailing only Miami’s Casey McGehee (158) and ranked 2nd in the Majors in assists (327), double plays (36) and innings played (1402.0). The Fielding Bible also showed that Seager led all Major League third basemen in good throws to first with a 96.6-percent “good throw” rate and he led the AL at his position with a plus-24 rating in runs saved via

Seager becomes the first Mariners player to earn a Gold Glove since Ichiro and Franklin Gutierrez in 2010. The Mariners had at least one Gold Glove winner in 24 consecutive seasons from 1987-2010. Seager is the second third baseman in club history to win a Gold Glove, joining Adrian Beltre (2x, 2007-2008).

Seager is now part of the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award fan vote on, which will last one day ending at 5 p.m. PT tomorrow.

Congrats to Kyle Seager on his first career #GoldGlove! #GoMariners

A video posted by Seattle Mariners (@mariners) on


The Rawlings® Gold Glove Award is presented annually to 18 players, one for each position, in both the American and National Leagues. The selection process is based approximately via 75% votes by manager and coaches (up to 7 per team, can’t vote for players on own team) and 25% based on the SABR Defensive Index (statistical based). Here’s a look at the complete AL and NL winners:

American League

Pos. Name Team # Gold Gloves
P Dallas Keuchel Houston 1
C Salvador Perez Kansas City 2
1B Eric Hosmer Kansas City 2
2B Dustin Pedroia Boston 4
3B Kyle Seager Seattle 1
SS J.J. Hardy Baltimore 3
LF Alex Gordon Kansas City 4
CF Adam Jones Baltimore 4
RF Nick Markakis Baltimore 2

National League

Pos. Name Team # Gold Gloves
P Zack Greinke Los Angeles 1
C Yadier Molina St. Louis 7
1B Adrian Gonzalez Los Angeles 4
2B DJ LeMahieu Colorado 1
3B Nolan Arenado Colorado 2
SS Andrelton Simmons Atlanta 2
LF Christian Yelich Miami 1
CF Juan Lagares New York 1
RF Jason Heyward Atlanta 2

Mariners All-Time Gold Glove winners:

1987 – Mark Langston, LHP
1988 – Mark Langston, LHP
Harold Reynolds, 2B
1989 – Harold Reynolds, 2B
1990 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
Harold Reynolds, 2B
1991 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1992 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1993 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
Omar Vizquel, SS
1994 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1995 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1996 – Jay Buhner, OF
Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1997 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1998 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1999 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
2000 – John Olerud, 1B
2001 – Mike Cameron, OF
Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2002 – Bret Boone, 2B
John Olerud, 1B
Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2003 – Bret Boone, 2B
Mike Cameron, OF
John Olerud, 1B
Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2004 – Bret Boone, 2B
Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2005 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2006 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2007 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
Adrian Beltre, 3B
2008 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
Adrian Beltre, 3B
2009 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2010 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
Franklin Gutierrez, OF
2014 – Kyle Seager, 3B

Kyle, Felix, Robinson Named Gold Glove Finalists

Gold Glove

Three finalists at each position in the American League and National League were announced today for the prestigious Rawlings® Gold Glove.

Mariners Kyle Seager (3B), Robinson Cano (2B) and Felix Hernandez (P) were among the three players at their respective positions to be named finalists. Winners will be announced on Tuesday, November 4 at 4 pm PT on Baseball Tonight on ESPN2.

The Rawlings® Gold Glove selection process is based approximately via 75% votes by manager and coaches (up to 7 per team, can’t vote for players on own team) and 25% based on the SABR Defensive Index (statistical based).

The Mariners have not had a Gold Glove winner since Ichiro and Franklin Gutierrez in 2010. Seattle had at least one winner 24 consecutive seasons from 1987-2010.

No Ordinary Glove

Not all gloves are created equal.  Just ask Franklin Gutierrez and Brendan Ryan.

When Gutierrez took the field last week, something kept catching a bit of sunlight: the gold patch on his glove.

As a 2010 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winner, Guti receives a specially made glove featuring the Rawlings Gold Glove patch.

The patch may seem like a minor thing, but for those elite defenders who earn a Gold Glove during their career, it has special meaning.

“It is an accomplishment for me, something that I wanted to do for a long time,” said Gutierrez. “To obtain this prize, a glove that not everybody receives, that Rawlings sends with the gold mark for each player inspires me and makes me feel happy and makes me want to work more every day.”

Franklin Gutierrez cherishes his special Rawlings Gold Glove.

While the glove is special, Franklin hasn’t taken it out on the field during a game yet.

“Right now I’m using it during practices to get it used to the games,” continued Gutierrez.  “I continue to use the old glove with which I won the Gold Glove but when I feel the [new] glove is ready, I’ll use it.”

His current game glove, while still in use, has already been claimed by the National Baseball Hall of Fame. When Gutierrez feels that it is time to move on to a new game glove, the current glove, the one with which he won a Gold Glove and set an American League record with 816 (and counting) consecutive errorless chances, will go to Cooperstown, New York.

“That is an honor and it is something that I wasn’t expecting,” said Gutierrez.  “I’ll donate it with kindness knowing that it will have a special place in the Hall of Fame.”

Rawlings Gold Glove Patch

Brendan Ryan, currently having a Gold Glove-quality season, found out just how cherished and respected those Gold Glove patches are when he received one by mistake.

“[It was] not the best experience ever,” said Ryan.  “It was my first big league camp and I was one of the youngest guys there in St. Louis Spring Training. I thought I needed a bigger glove to be more of a utility guy and play some third base so I had a glove sent in. It had a gold patch on it like all the Gold Glovers are rewarded with and some of the Gold Glovers on that team didn’t take a liking to that and gave me a lot of trouble for that.”

While it would be tempting to keep such a special glove, Ryan did what any young player would do.

“I ended up having to send the glove back so we could get a regular red patch with Rawlings on that back there. I thought it was cool until I realized that guys actually earned those things and it’s actually really cool.”