Kyle Seager Wins Gold Glove at Third Base


Mariners third baseman Kyle Seager has been selected as the winner of the 2014 Rawlings® American League Gold Glove, announced tonight by the Rawlings Sporting Goods Company and Major League Baseball.

Seager was one of three finalists for the American League Gold Glove at third base with Josh Donaldson (Oakland) and Adrian Beltre (TEX). Fellow Mariners Robinson Cano (2B) and Felix Hernandez (P) were also finalists at their position but did not win.

Seager, who turned 27 yesterday, had the highest fielding percentage amongst qualifying Major League third basemen in 2014 at .981 (8 E, 422 TC), the 10th-best mark by an AL third baseman dating back to 1948.

“It is an honor to just be up for the award with all the great third basemen, let alone win the Gold Glove,” said Seager. “I really owe a lot to my coaches, especially Chris Woodward. He helped me tremendously.”

He made 157 starts at the hot corner, trailing only Miami’s Casey McGehee (158) and ranked 2nd in the Majors in assists (327), double plays (36) and innings played (1402.0). The Fielding Bible also showed that Seager led all Major League third basemen in good throws to first with a 96.6-percent “good throw” rate and he led the AL at his position with a plus-24 rating in runs saved via

Seager becomes the first Mariners player to earn a Gold Glove since Ichiro and Franklin Gutierrez in 2010. The Mariners had at least one Gold Glove winner in 24 consecutive seasons from 1987-2010. Seager is the second third baseman in club history to win a Gold Glove, joining Adrian Beltre (2x, 2007-2008).

Seager is now part of the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award fan vote on, which will last one day ending at 5 p.m. PT tomorrow.

Congrats to Kyle Seager on his first career #GoldGlove! #GoMariners

A video posted by Seattle Mariners (@mariners) on


The Rawlings® Gold Glove Award is presented annually to 18 players, one for each position, in both the American and National Leagues. The selection process is based approximately via 75% votes by manager and coaches (up to 7 per team, can’t vote for players on own team) and 25% based on the SABR Defensive Index (statistical based). Here’s a look at the complete AL and NL winners:

American League

Pos. Name Team # Gold Gloves
P Dallas Keuchel Houston 1
C Salvador Perez Kansas City 2
1B Eric Hosmer Kansas City 2
2B Dustin Pedroia Boston 4
3B Kyle Seager Seattle 1
SS J.J. Hardy Baltimore 3
LF Alex Gordon Kansas City 4
CF Adam Jones Baltimore 4
RF Nick Markakis Baltimore 2

National League

Pos. Name Team # Gold Gloves
P Zack Greinke Los Angeles 1
C Yadier Molina St. Louis 7
1B Adrian Gonzalez Los Angeles 4
2B DJ LeMahieu Colorado 1
3B Nolan Arenado Colorado 2
SS Andrelton Simmons Atlanta 2
LF Christian Yelich Miami 1
CF Juan Lagares New York 1
RF Jason Heyward Atlanta 2

Mariners All-Time Gold Glove winners:

1987 – Mark Langston, LHP
1988 – Mark Langston, LHP
Harold Reynolds, 2B
1989 – Harold Reynolds, 2B
1990 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
Harold Reynolds, 2B
1991 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1992 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1993 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
Omar Vizquel, SS
1994 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1995 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1996 – Jay Buhner, OF
Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1997 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1998 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
1999 – Ken Griffey Jr., OF
2000 – John Olerud, 1B
2001 – Mike Cameron, OF
Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2002 – Bret Boone, 2B
John Olerud, 1B
Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2003 – Bret Boone, 2B
Mike Cameron, OF
John Olerud, 1B
Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2004 – Bret Boone, 2B
Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2005 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2006 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2007 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
Adrian Beltre, 3B
2008 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
Adrian Beltre, 3B
2009 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
2010 – Ichiro Suzuki, OF
Franklin Gutierrez, OF
2014 – Kyle Seager, 3B

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: