Mike Zunino Wins Golden Spikes Award

Mike Zunino, the Mariners first selection (3rd overall) in this year’s MLB Draft, has been named the winner of the 2012 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award.

Zunino, who signed his first professional contract with the Mariners on Tuesday, also won this year’s Dick Howser Trophy as the premier college player, the Johnny Bench Award as the best collegiate catcher and was named the Baseball America Player of the Year. He batted .322 with 19 home runs and 67 RBIs as a junior for the University of Florida Gators.

Mike Zunino with the Golden Spikes Award (USA Baseball).

The Mariners newest prospect will attend the 83rd annual MLB All-Star Game at Kansas City’s Kauffman Stadium on July 10 before officially embarking on his professional career with the Everett AquaSox, Seattle’s Class A short-season affiliate in the Northwest League.

The award was announced on the MLB Network this afternoon. Zunino, along with Golden Spikes Finalists RHP Mark Appel (Stanford) and LHP Carlos Rodon (NC State) had a busy day as the trio were also guests at the MLB Fan Cave.

Here is a list of the Golden Spikes Winners through the years:

2012 Mike Zunino Florida
2011 Trevor Bauer UCLA
2010 Bryce Harper College of Southern Nevada
2009 Stephen Strasburg San Diego State
2008 Buster Posey Florida State
2007 David Price Vanderbilt
2006 Tim Lincecum Washington
2005 Alex Gordon Nebraska
2004 Jered Weaver Long Beach State
2003 Rickie Weeks Southern
2002 Khalil Greene Clemson
2001 Mark Prior Southern California
2000 Kip Bouknight South Carolina
1999 Jason Jennings Baylor
1998 Pat Burrell Miami (FL)
1997 J. D. Drew Florida State
1996 Travis Lee San Diego State
1995 Mark Kotsay Cal State Fullerton
1994 Jason Varitek Georgia Tech
1993 Darren Dreifort Wichita State
1992 Phil Nevin Cal State Fullerton
1991 Mike Kelly Arizona State
1990 Alex Fernández Miami-Dade Community College
1989 Ben McDonald LSU
1988 Robin Ventura Oklahoma State
1987 Jim Abbott Michigan
1986 Mike Loynd Florida State
1985 Will Clark Mississippi State
1984 Oddibe McDowell Arizona State
1983 Dave Magadan Alabama
1982 Augie Schmidt New Orleans
1981 Mike Fuentes Florida State
1980 Terry Francona Arizona
1979 Tim Wallach Cal State Fullerton
1978 Bob Horner Arizona State

– JE

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: